Éste sitio web usa cookies, si permanece aquí acepta su uso. Puede leer más sobre el uso de cookies en nuestro aviso legal

  • ESP / ENG
  • +34 956 447 125    +34 649 293 273   sunshinetour@sunshinetour.net

Matthew Sampson and ‘Ebolensky’ back on top in the Schelstraete Equine Law Trophy

great victory in this Rankings class for the gifted British rider with his long term partner the lovely grey, 14yr old mare by ’Clinton’ x ’Heartbreaker’

Second was Frank Schuttert with ’Gream’ and third, Penelope Leprevost with ’Djagger Semilly’


Matthew Sampson and ‘Ebolensky’ had an impressive round today in the Big Tour, Longines Ranking speed class. The class was sponsored by Schelstraete Equine Law, an international firm specialising in equestrian  law, with branches in Amsterdam, Paris and  New York. It was a 1.50 class and held in the grass, David Broome arena: there were 93 participants.


Matt and ‘Ebolensky’ are well known here at Montenmedio and indeed, were the winners of the first Grand Prix in this 2023 edition of the Andalucía Sunshine Tour, on the 12th of February. Once again they are back on the top of the podium, demonstrating that their great partnership is as solid as ever. Riding to win, Matt stopped the clock in just 63.13 segundos, and pushed the Dutch rider, Frank Schutter, off of the top spot that he had held since early on in the class. In the end Frank took second place in 63.39s, with  ‘Gream’ (‘Verdi TN’ x ‘Ultimo’).


In third was the renown French rider, Penelope Leprevost with ‘Djagger Semilly’ (‘Diamant de Semilly’ x ‘Apache D’Adriers’); fourth was British rider who is regularly in the rosettes, James Smith with ‘Holly’ (‘Zambesi’ x ‘Verdi TN’) and in fifth was another Dutch rider, Sanne Thijssen with ‘Con Quidam RB’ (‘Quinar Z’ x ‘Cardino 5’), another one of our regular winners here at  Montenmedio.

With that in mind, Sanne went in and won the second Longines Ranking class today; this was the 2 phase, Medium Tour 1.45 class and she was riding the 12yr old, grey mare, ‘Clarima 6’ ‘Clarimo’ x ‘Quintero’. This class was held on grass but in the Hickstead arena and also had a large field, of 96 entries.


Stopping the clock in just 26.19s ‘Clarima 6’ was quite a way ahead of the other riders, winning the class in fine style. This is the best result Sanne has had so far here at the tour with this talented mare, who is just one of her lovely string of horses;  that include other winners like ‘Cupcake Z’; ‘Hi There’ and ‘Con Quindam Z’.


Not content with this, Sanne aso won the 1.45, Big Tour, today with ‘Hawai Balia NL, stopping Matthew Sampson from taking yet another win as he came in second! What a superb day at the office!


Back to the results of the Medium Tour Ranking class and in second place behind Sanne, was another one of our top winners, Charlotte Bettendorf who rides for Luxembourg, she was on ‘Babacool’ (‘Tlaloc M’ x ‘Urbain du Monnai’). Again we saw Penelope Leprevost with a fast stylish round, this time taking third with ‘GFE Candy de Nantuel’ (‘Luidam’ x ‘Diamant de Semilly’) and in fourth, the recently arrived German rider, David Will with ‘Zaccorado Blue’ (‘VDL Zirocco Blue’ x ‘Acorado’). In fifth was the successful Irish rider Commandant Geoff Curran with ‘Tempo Manor’ (‘Sligo Candy Boy’).


In the aforementioned 1.45 de Big Tour, Sanne was our winner with Matthew in second place riding ‘Ermitage D’Argouges’. In third was the German rider Michael Viehweg with ‘Comanche 29’; fourth the French rider, Emeric George with ‘Calisco de Terlong’ and in fifth was Irish, Jonathan Smyth with ‘Mulvin Lui’.


There was a British top two in the other Big Tour class, the 1.35, from James Smith and ‘Juno Rose 23’, followed by Ronnie Jones with ‘Kaleche’.  In third was Belgian rider, Cyril Cools with ‘Coryfee T&L Z’; fourth, Spanish rider, Iván Serrano Sáez with ‘Gold Empire’ and in fifth another British rider,  William Walker with ‘Ustino’.


Sofia Westborg from Sweden was the winner of the Medium Tour 1.40 with ‘F Termie R12’; Irish rider, Dermott Lennon second with ‘Anthem In My Heart’ and in third was the German rider, Zoe Osterhoff with ‘Djinn de Riverland’.  In the 1.30,  once again  the British rider, Emma Stoker was on the podium she was riding ‘Q Seven’; In second was Michael Viehweg with ‘Quait Fox’ and third was another British rider,  Jude Burgess with ‘Jackson’.


In the Small Tour classes the winners were British Nicole Lockhead Anderson with  ‘Cassandro B’ in the 1.40; Spanish, Hugo Álvarez Amaro with ‘Olina Van de Looise Heide’ in the 1.35 and British, Chris Smith with ‘Knock Out’ in the 1.30.


These are the main results today and the rest may be found both on our App and internet pages. The Andalucía Sunshine Tour, is kindly sponsored by ‘la Consejería de Turismo, Cultura y Deporte’ and co-financed by the European Union.  Tomorrow we have twelve classes, including the Small Grand Prix which is also a FEI Longines Ranking class.

10/03/2023   by Sunshinetour News , Press releases

Te puede interesar